top of page

The Witch

The Witch 2016 USA Be warned. This movie will stay in your head for a week and you will never play peek-a-boo again. After I saw it in the theater all I did was think about this movie. I watched it again last night (with the lights on) and i couldn't sleep just thinking about it. I feel like people had the impression that it was a traditional horror movie which it isn't. The Witch doesn't rely on jump scares to get your blood pumping. Some people may think it's slowly paced but the use of eerie music and great cinematography create suspense which resulted in a haunting movie. Around the 1630s a family starts to be torn apart by the loss of a child and satanic witchcraft lurking in the woods or under their roof. Two performances really stood out. The father William (Ralph Ineson) and his son Caleb (Harvey Scrimshaw) were as good as you can be. The scene where Caleb returns from the woods gave me goosebumps. This was writer, director Robert Eggers first full length feature and and I'll be looking to see what he comes out with next.

bottom of page